Governments should spend more money in support of arts than in support of athletics such as state-sponsored Olympic teams.

In today’s turbulent economic environment, it is difficult for the government to decide which areas they should spend money on. Arts and sports are two essential entertainment pillar industries upon the development of the economy. While some people believe that it is important to fund the arts, others feel that it is preferable to prioritize athletics issues. Personally, I strongly believe that the government should provide more money to support the art community rather than to support athletics. I feel that way for two reasons which I will thoroughly elaborate on in this essay.

The first reason worth mentioning is, artworks such as paintings, sculptures, and photographs are essential components for spiritual life. That being said, enjoying these creative pieces of art is beneficial for our mental health and aesthetic taste. This is best demonstrated by my personal experience. When I just finished the National License exam, I felt very worried, even anxious about the result, and hardly slept well for a couple of days so I decided to attend the ceramic workshop. It was a long-term immersive experience, for which, I had to be very focused to design the best form of the mug. As a result, unexpectedly, after stepping out of there all my worries were gone and I feel relaxed. Furthermore, by seeing Sundae Kid’s gallery exhibition I adopted a new perspective on digital illustrations, which is, sometimes pictures can tell a better story than words do.

Another reason that I hold this opinion is, while funding sports seems to be a good idea, they already have sufficient investment. Obviously, there are so many private fundings for sports associations or even individual players with good performances. In contrast, art activities are predominantly undersupported by the public as well as the government. For instance, in art festivals, the artists have to pay large amount of service fees to the government if they want to be a part of the events which will worsen their financial situations, especially for those who are infamous. Thus, more funding and resources should be invested in the art community other than athletics.

In conclusion, I am the opinion that, artists and art exhibitions should receive more financial support from officials rather than well-invested sports industry. This way the arts can continue to embellish and, at the same time, benefit people's mental and emotional well-being and aesthetic taste of the public.