Highways or public transportation?

In the modern era, the responsibility of governments such as the development of public transportation and roads has raised a lot of debate among academicians. Some people hold the view that the government should give priority to the improvement of highways since wealthier people, who are responsible for paying the largest part of the government tax, would prefer to drive their own cars rather than traveling by crowded public transportation. However, others may take the opposite viewpoint and believe that improving public vehicles would fairly benefit all people in society, whether they are rich or not. I personally favor the latter option over the former one. In the following paragraphs, I will elaborate on my viewpoint through some notable reasons.

My first reason is that although prosperous people would rather use private cars, the masses are usually traveling by public transportation, which is both more economical and more convenient for them. From my point of view, the government should primarily respect the rights and wishes of the majority of people rather than just those well-off. Focusing on the development of highways and leaving public buses and trains contradicts the principles of equality in society and can make people dissatisfied.

The second reason is that public means of transportation use fewer fossil fuels, and this feature can lead to a cleaner and healthier environment. If the government invests heavily in the development of public vehicles, fewer amounts of harmful gases, like CO2, SO2, and NOx, will be released into the atmosphere, which guarantees a sustainable and green future for the next generations. Toxic exhaust fumes can actually threaten human health and are the main cause of a large number of diseases and ailments, such as heart attack, headache, and a variety of cancers. In this regard, not only does spending government funding on public transportation lead to a remarkable decline in the consumption of fossil fuels, but also can help us live longer and remain safe from a wide range of diseases. Nowadays, in fact, fossil fuels are highly regarded as extremely valuable resources of raw materials that can be used for more useful purposes, like petrochemical production, rather than being simply burned to release energy.

Lastly, investing in public vehicles can dramatically reduce traffic problems in metropolises since they can transport the greatest capacity of passengers compared to private cars. Official statistics have revealed that most of the cars moving along the highways and roads in large cities are only occupied by their drivers and carry no passengers with them, which means when people are freely allowed to run their cars, we should anticipate traffic congestion along the key highways, especially during commuting hours, even in a city with large road infrastructures. That's why I think encouraging the use of private cars can cause us many avoidable problems.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned arguments, there are a myriad of reasons that convince me to support the opinion that it is wiser for governments to invest heavily in public transportation instead of developing roads. Some of the reasons, such as the necessity of meeting most people's requirements, reaching a green and healthier environment, avoiding diseases and sickness, and preventing traffic problems, are mentioned above. However, that was like a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples challenging the claim, which are not mentioned above. All in all, I firmly believe that improving public transportation can greatly help us pursue a sustainable and clean future.