If one of your friends has the opportunity to study in either one of two majors, which one of the following majors you will recommend:  1)A major that would allow your friend to complete studies and get a degree faster (so that he or she can get a ful

Nowadays, the stress of life has brought about fierce competition among people, so which major should be learned becomes important for the young. To gain a competitive advantage, some people suggest choosing a major that allows one to start to work quickly. However, my attitude is just the opposite of such statements. If I were to give advice to my friend, I believe it is better to choose a major that offers him more employment opportunities in the future.

To begin with, my friend would have the chance to choose his favorite job if he has more employment opportunities in the future. This is necessary and important because a favorite job is beneficial and helpful for his future career. To be specific, a favorite job inspires people to learn and think, so it is good for them to improve their work efficiency and quality. Take my brother as an example. Architecture major took him five years to study, which is longer than a four-year major. After graduation, he received several offers from famous architecture companies and design institutes. He chose the company specializing in residential building design because that was where his interest lain in – to make people live comfortably. Now, he is a chief designer in this company. He said that his passion for his job makes him full of power to study something new about architecture, which helps him achieve success in the workplace in such a competitive society.

What is more, people can get a much higher salary if they choose a major that requires many years of study than that helps one get a degree sooner, because more employment opportunities and offers provide chances for them to choose the company providing the highest salary. Obviously, in a company, only a few people can be promoted and got a high salary, so most people have to endure an average salary level for a long time. If people choose a major that gets a degree sooner, it is hard for them to get a higher salary because majors of that kind are usually not irreplaceable, nor are they that professional. It is well acknowledged that uniqueness and irreplaceability determine one’s position in the workplace. In this case, choosing a major that requires a longer time of study but provides more professional knowledge and decent work opportunities with a competitive salary in the future works is better for young people.

Admittedly, some people may argue that beginning to work full-time quickly helps young people adapt to society earlier because school and society are different. However, adapting to society as soon as possible cannot guarantee an increased income nor one’s competitiveness. Weighing the pros and cons from a bigger picture, I suggest my friends choose the major that requires many years of study, considering his future career development.