If people want to contribute to the society, which of the following is the best way?

A. riding bicycle or walking on foot

B. recycling the waste

C. buy local organic food.

Can you imagine there were flocks of birds flying high up in the sky, or perched on tree branches, chirping and hopping around? Suddenly, one day, they all disappeared, nowhere to be seen. This is exactly what is depicted in Rachel Carson’s“Silent Spring,” where she vividly points out the drawbacks of extensive use of DDT and passionately advocates the importance of environmental protection. In my opinion, a destroyed environment is just like a noxious tumor, afflicting pain and devastation continuously. Therefore, I think protecting the environment should be considered the priority and to accomplish that and to contribute most to the society, the only viable is to buy local organic food.

To begin with, buying local organic food can significantly reduce the amount of pesticides or insecticides being sprayed onto crops. With a reduced amount of insecticides, less toxic pollutants would be left in the soil, where the earth would have a chance to stay fertile, which can in turn help contribute to sustainable growth in the environment. For example, in Netherland, farmers have been banned from using insecticides to tend their produce. In fact, all of their agricultural yields are organic. Though the financial cost and the cost of human labor are significantly higher than those of traditionally grown crops, farmers in Netherland need not switch to new fields or plow deeper into the soil or leave certain lands fallow while looking for some other space to grow crops. Instead, they can continue planting crops in the original field since the nutrients in the soil are not destroyed or annihilated by the insecticides or some other artificial chemicals. The condition of the soil therefore stays conducive to agricultural purposes. In other words, farmers in Netherland let the nature take its course and the end result is that the nature can indeed take care of itself. With the original lands still in a healthy and robust condition, farmers in Netherland need not resort to or turn to or exploit more lands for growing crops.

Furthermore, if people purchase local organic food, this can contribute to society most in that people will begin to recognize the importance of healthful living. Nowadays, with people getting busier and busier, people have grown less wary of what they put inside their mouth. People consume fast food or artificial products such as sausage or soft drinks in exchange of convenience and alacrity. The repercussion of this is that people nowadays face a host of illnesses such as diabetes or obesity that people in the past did not have to worry. Without healthy bodies or wholesome functioning of human bodies, how can a society exist, survive, or even thrive? Imagine a society where people get sick all the time due to the heavily-polluted or unhealthy food they have been wolfing down. People couldn’t go to work because they need to go to doctors all the time. The economy of that society is therefore likely to decline because humans are just like cogs, the lack of which could cause the entire society to crumble. The food that humans eat is equivalent to tiny cogs to make our bodies function. If human beings end up eating inorganic food and getting sick all the time, the ripple effect would just be what is described above, where the complete functioning of the society would be compromised. Only by grown local organic food can therefore permit people to become more aware of their health and this biological reaction that serves as the underlying of the world ecology.

Irrefutably, some dissidents might disavow my arguments by claiming that recycling the waste or riding the bicycle or walking on foot could better contribute to society. Some might think that recycling the waste can help sustain the environment since the waste could be converted into something useful, less waste created and more useful products created. Others might think that walking on foot or riding the bicycle can contribute most to the society, since less noisome gas emissions would be emitted, thereby containing the increase of some greenhouse gases. Granted, these are the measures that people can contribute to the society however, have those people forgotten that growing local organic food can contribute to the greatest benefits to our society since local organic food can both help mitigate environmental degradation, resulting in environmental sustainability, foster economy growth, and make human beings much healthier? A host of benefits conferred by growing local organic food are not confined to the foot itself. The food can make a contribution to our society, personally, physically, socially, economically, and ecologically. After all, we would not want our world descend into what Rachel Carson depicts in her work, where greenery becomes a luxury or even illusion.