If you need to take a course, which professor's course would you like to take?

1. a professor who was voted the most popular

2. a professor who has just won an award for an outstanding research

The quality of university education depends primarily on its teaching standards. And I believe that taking a course taught by the most popular professor can benefit students more.

First, attending a course taught by a well-received professor allows students to learn better. Typically, academic content can be dry, and many students would find it hard to focus in class, especially during warm afternoons. And missing examples or explanations of key concepts while having their minds drifting away might cause them trouble because most of the exam questions come from the materials covered in class. However, if a professor is loved by the students, attending classes given by this professor would most likely be enjoyable since other students have enjoyed the teaching to have voted for the professor in the first place. And with more enjoyment during classes, students can better focus on what the professor is talking about, thus building lasting memories about their learning contents and ultimately helping them learn more effectively.

Second, a professor who has won research awards might teach inadequately. Winning such an award requires long-term devotion to the field researched. And spending more time doing something would inevitably mean spending less time on other things, such as teaching or developing interpersonal skills. Therefore, with fewer hours for teaching activities, a professor might not be so familiar with students’ strengths and weaknesses. And this means this professor might emphasize trivial points too much or not explain intricate ideas fully. Either of these impedes students’ learning. Besides, spending too much time conducting research lowers the amount of time for the professor to socialize, likely developing not-so-sophisticated personal skills. So, students might not communicate with this person well. And when they have problems with their studies, they might be reluctant to talk to this professor who is always so busy with the research project.

To conclude, attending a well-received professor’s course enables students to learn more attentively, while a professor who immerses in research might teach poorly.