Imagine that you are in a classroom or a meeting. The teacher or the meeting leader says something incorrect. In your opinion, which of the following is the best thing to do?

--Interrupt and correct the mistake right away

--Wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then talk to the teacher or meeting leader

--Say nothing

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The issue that what should we do if we hear the teacher or the meeting leaders says something incorrect is a hot debated one. Different people may react to this in different ways. Some may correct them immediately, and others may ignore it deliberately. However, I will wait until the class or meeting is over and the people are gone, and then correct them, for the following reasons.

To begin with, I believe interrupting the meeting or class while other people are talking is impolite. Therefore, I believe correcting them after the meeting or class is more appropriate. For example, I remember when I was in university, I was the team leader of a group assignment. As a team leader, I felt that I have responsibility to control the pace of discussion. However, one of my team member, Tom, always liked to interrupt me while I was talking, which made me feel offended, since I felt that he did not respect his leader at all.

Moreover, if we wait until the class or meeting is over and then correct the teacher or leader, we can avoid some unnecessary conflicts. Because everybody has different personality, if we correct them right away, we may make them feel angry, since we made them feel embarrassed. I have an experience of this while I am working in the company. In my company, we have regular meeting on Monday morning every week. Since my boss has a strong self-esteem, nobody dare to interrupt him when he is talking about his opinion in the meeting. Yet one day my team had a new employee, he was a smart guy who has strong opinions. So, he tried to correct my boss during the meeting. As a result, my boss was infuriated and kicked him out of the meeting.

Although some people may argue that if we do not correct them right away, it could cause others to receive incorrect information, with the help of technology, however, we can always correct our statement easily. For instance, if a team leader conveyed wrong information in the meeting, he can send an e-mail right after the meeting to let his team members know that he said something wrong. In that way, other members still can receive correct information on time.

In conclusion, despite correct others right away can save time and resources, if we put people's reaction into consideration, we would know that we actually do not save any time and resources.