Imagine that you are a student at a university where there are long breaks between semesters. The university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break.a. Students must take a course which has no direct connection to t

Students should have their own preference to broaden horizons. Some say that

we can take a course is no direct to connect with our major course, while others claim that we can do some volunteer work at hometown or university city to absorb different experience. Of course, I do not deny that choosing different course can enhance our professional ability. However, I am afraid that such ability is only broaden our knowledge from book not a useful tools. In the following, I will describe to take part in volunteer works are beneficial for future career and self-confidence.

First, volunteer work can improve to gain career experience. Take my roommate Ann for example, she wants to be a nurse and her major is medical treatment. One day she told me that she want to participate in the medical organization in Africa for two month practicing. This short-term medical volunteer work can directly work at their hospital and nurse patients. Although people may consider to gain the career experience is not need to go this dangerous way. In Ann’s opinion the experience is worth for her to see different way of life there and to be more understand her career planning.

Secondly, volunteer works can also useful in assist disaster resident and rebuild their hometown. Take earthquake for instance, the accident was occur seriously in Tainan couple of years ago. One of the building dump suddenly in the midnight. Lots of resident compel to separate with their family. The tragedy also need enough people to give them assistance. Besides medical treatment, volunteer can join to prepare food for them and give some teach resources to accompany with their children. Although most students may argue about this volunteer work do not have any beneficial for their own and a little intermeddle at the situation. In fact, if we can switch our thought, these assistance can give you a sense of pride and identity. The better we feel about ourselves, the more likely we feel positive and confidence.

In sum, students can bring these experiences to find out their preference career and have confidence to devote their effort on people who needs help. In my perspective, volunteer work is a training for student to do the work which really different from their class. Therefore, this experience can totally learn to improve yourself enrichment.