Imagine that you plan to donate money to charity to help people in need. If you could give money to only one type of charitable organization, which one of the following would you choose and why?

- An organization that provides food and housing to people in need

- An organization that gives people money to start their own small business

- An organization that provides medical care to people in need

Today, there are many in the world living in abject poverty. Fortunately, there are quite a few generous people who cooperate with charities in contributing to the poor. While some hold that it is better to help the poor with the provision of foods and medical care, others believe that, above all, they need money to establish their own business. A question that arises is which contribution is more efficient and beneficial to them. If I had the opportunity to help the needy through charities, I would contribute money to them to launch their own small business for several reasons, two of which are as follows.

To begin with, giving money to the poor to help them with establishing a small business not only can be a long-term solution but also can make them both self-sufficient and independent. The provision of foods and medical care, however, leads them to be dependent on others because they always expect charities to help them. In this case, as their vital sustenance depends on charities, it cannot be an efficient solution, but a short-term one because if they lose the help of those humanitarian organizations, they could not survive. Money, on the other hand, helps them with having their own jobs. For example, if charities give them enough money to loan a small piece of land, not only would they be self-supporting in the production of food rather than only food consumers, but they could also afford the cost of the medical care. Therefore, it is imperative to help the poor with contributing money to be able to have a job, being beneficial to them in the long run.

Second, the poor can have strong desires to live a better life, thanks to having a proper job. It goes without saying that most poor children who live in poverty-stricken areas do not have the opportunity to attend schools or universities due to their high costs. Therefore, most of them not have any educational degree, which is pivotal to their future carrier. Obviously, by providing food and medical care, they get used to living on a subsistence level without any aspirations to live a more satisfying life. Consequently, their future generations would be as poor and illiterate as they are. Nevertheless, owing to their parents’ business, they would be more likely to attend the university, and as a result, their next generation would be more liable to be successful in the future.

To sum up, when it comes to contributing to the poor, I hold that it is more advantageous to give them money in order to launch their own small business as opposed to the contribution of foods or medical care. By doing so, not only can day become self-sufficient, but it also helps their next generations to live an educated, successful life.