Imagine that you want to improve your performance in order to get better grades (marks) at school or to get a promotion or higher pay at work. You are considering the following ways:

- Doing additional work or extra assignments beyond what is required

- Participating more actively and contributing your own ideas more frequently in group discussions.

Which ONE of these two actions do you think would be more helpful for improving your performance? Why?

Studing and working are two core phases of a person’s life. And I believe that doing extra work can both improve academic achievement as well as help with career development.

First, doing more assignments than what is required can help students get better grades. Most assignments consist of exercise questions. And doing more of these offers students more opportunities to identify the problems they have in solving such questions. And they can then either refer to textbooks for solutions or ask their teachers to explain what they have difficult with to them, hence improving their ability to solve similar problems correctly in the future. Also, when they have done a considerable amount of exercise questions, they will be able to find general rules about how to solve exam questions, and ultimately improves their efficiency at doing so. And when students have mastered acuraccy and speed, they will be likely to solve more questions correctly during major exam, thus improving their grades.

Second, doing additional work benefits people’s career development. Typically, the more work people do, the higher output they can generate, meaning more income for their business. When the business directors realize this increase in income, they are likely to notice those valuable employees who have done extra work to help boost their revenue. If they wish to continue have this extra revenue in the future, they will either promote those employees or offer them other pays. Alternatively, if the directors are not aware of such employees and have done nothing in return, these employees can just change to better paying jobs by demonstrating the value they can create to business owners. Either way, doing more jobs would help those employees’ careers.

To conclude, doing more work can help students achieve higher grades and employees with their career development.