“The Internet will never replace traditional course books in schools”. Do you agree or disagree with this prediction?

It is claimed that the world wide web will never be a substitute for conventional, print study books. Despite the onslaught of online educational resources, print versions are still standing strong not only because they are better at conveying information but also because they are time- and expert-proven. Nevertheless, with the rising number of tech-savvy children and with schools increasingly moving towards digital sources for educational purposes, I dare say that it is just a matter of time when traditional course books will be consigned to oblivion and will give way to a novel way of learning online.

Without a doubt, some school children are more immersed in printed textbooks and fathom better the content. In other words, seeing and feeling how much progress they have made, by virtue of the waxing and waning pages of the book, can help pupils feel like they are making headway, both literally and figuratively. A study reported in the New Yorker found that school students using the internet sources for studying science, for example, were less likely to recall concepts than those who read the same in print. What is more, with a print coursebook, it is easier to go back and review without having to scroll or click back in the browser.

Equally important, traditional textbooks are meticulously designed by pedagogical experts and tested by time. While forming syllabi, the professors ensure that the fundamentals of particular subjects are aligned with theoretical and practical learning methods that consider topics to be covered, instructions, assignments, continuous assessment, and formal examinations. On this occasion, similar online sources fail to meet educational standards. The biggest online examination provider Proctoring Company, while being rigorous about testing conditions, is still susceptible to fraud. This only proves that “Learning is not attained by chance, it must be sought for with ardor and attended to with diligence” (Abigail Adams).

Nonetheless, it would be unwise to deny the fact that the global network gives access to a wider range of content for teaching and learning that can supplement curricula. Instead of relying primarily on textbooks, teachers can direct students to many different sources, and students can develop research skills by exploring online content on their own. For instance, Open educational resources (OER) make course materials from one country available to students in another. Consequently, by integrating the wealth of new resources into education, policymakers are making it easier for students to learn as and when they wish to do so, rather than just by reading study books.

In the final analysis, it appears that traditional books are unlikely to be replaced by the Internet in the short term as they are easier to imbibe and are tested by time and pedagogical experts. However, the internet has already become an integral part of school curricular, giving access to a wider range of content for learning, ameliorating research skills, and making it easier for students to learn regardless of time and place. So, the internet may become an alternative source of knowledge in the future.