Is it a beneficial for those people who stop reading and listening the news for few days and weeks?

From Straits Times to Fox News, the emergence of a large number of news outlets renders receiving information across geographical boundaries possible. While some people believe reading news allows people to have a more comprehensive understanding of the events going on around the world, I maintain that stopping reading or listening to news occasionally could be beneficial to people for they can have an invaluable chance to relax from hectic school life or work life and develop a more critical perspective towards global events.

To begin with, ceasing reading or listening to the news for a short while enables people to have a rest from a busy life. Being bombarded with a large amount of information, people need to spend extra energy to filter through the news and capture the important information. At the same time, they are also busy with their school work or careers. Therefore, stopping reading news could be a perfect chance for them to have a rest and concentrate on their tasks instead of being distracted by the various types of news reported. For example, I used to work for my high school news station to report happenings around school. Before important examinations, the school would ask us to stop issuing newspapers or broadcasting news so as to allow students to unwind themselves and focus on the examinations, which was proven to be effective in improving students’ grades. Therefore, ceasing reading or listening to the news would definitely be beneficial for people to relax from hectic life.

Moreover, stopping reading or listening to news provides an excellent opportunity for people to develop critical thinking towards news. Undeniably, the news reported is usually carefully selected by news agencies and edited by reporters or editors. As a result, the information people received has been processed or even manipulated, causing information deemed to be insignificant by news agencies to be neglected. By stopping reading news, people could pay more attention to news happened around them and review the events from their own perspective without being affected by the editors’ opinions. In this way, people could be more critical towards opinions presented by the news and maintain an objective perception even after starting reading news again.

However, some argue that people would be unable to catch up with the latest happenings once stopping reading or listening to the news. Given the fast-changing nature of society, a large number of events are happening at the same time around the world. Therefore, the news reported could be totally different from those reported one week ago, thus causing people unable to follow up on the newest events. However, such worry is unnecessary since many news agencies have online websites where past issues can be easily found. As such, after relaxing for a week, people can easily refer to the websites to find out what has happened in the past few days and catch up with the current affairs.

In conclusion, while reading news is an important means to learn about our surroundings and even global affairs, stopping reading or listening to the news for a short while would not leave negative effects on people and could allow them to relax and develop their own perspectives towards current events. Therefore, people should stop reading news occasionally.