It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Some people believe that it is very essential to have a wide network of friends. This in turn gives them wider alternatives when in need of any help or rather for any means of company. However, even though it is very important to not restrict ourselves with limited people,I believe that it is also very essential to maintain friendship with our older friends. I feel this way for several reasons and the coming two paragraphs will justify my viewpoints.

Firstly, our older friends know us better and have more experience with us than our newly formed friends. When in need of anything, they can have a thorough understanding of all the aspects which may otherwise not be familar to someone else. To state an instance, since I had trouble coping up with maths in my college, my friend from high school could help me with it better since she is already familar with my aversion towards maths. She could help me understand it faster because she already knows my strengths and weakness with the subject. On the other hand, if I had asked for help from one of my college friend, it would have taken up a longer amount of time for her to figure out my grasping of the subject. Hence, I believe that our older friends have a better understanding of us as a person than our newly formed friends.

Secondly, I feel that it is easier for us to communicate openly without any hesitation with our older friends. This is mainly because of the amount of time we have shared together. After spending a considerable amount of time being friends, we tend to understand the opinions and beliefs of each other and likewise the shyness and hesitation to express our thoughts are eliminated. For example, any teenager facing a personal problem is likely to talk about it with his/her older friends rather than a new friend with the hesitation of them turning out to be judgemental. Even if the teenager may discuss the issue with his/her new friends, it is highly possible that it may just be a superficial communication and not complete expression of thoughts and emotions. Therefore, it is comparatively a much easier task to express ourselves in a better and effective way to someone we have known for a longer time than to someone new to us.

This topic, however, is a complex one and is difficult to pick sides completely. Nevertheless, it is only our comfort with the other person that in the end ultimately defines our friendship and hence, I believe that our older friends are someone who can definitely provide us with it. Therefore. I contend that it is more important to maintain friendship with our old friends than keep making new friends.