Leader like John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King have made important contributions to the people of the United State. Name another world leader you think is important. Given specific reasons for your choice.

One of the most substantial positions in any community, in particular in every country, is leadership. The consequences of a world leader’s decisions can lead his or her country, even the world, to prosperity or failures. Given my familiarity with the leaders of countries around the world, I can hold that Mir-Hossein Mousavi, captured leader of the Green Movement in Iran, is a great leader as a result of his efficient management techniques as well as his struggles for the revival of rights of the Iranian.

His presidential period coincided with the Iran-Iraq war. Iraq’s invasion of Iran resulted in the prolonged war and eroded both countries. Iran was in a critical strait, since no sooner had it experienced a revolution than the war started. Internationally and pragmatically experienced governors are sadly absent at that time, and they are fledgling, with the result that they virtually did not make right strategic decisions. However, Mir-Hossein Mousavi was the one who was able to manage the economy with a number of efficacious management techniques. His measurements gave rise to prevent or at least decrease the rate of ever-increasing inflation. For instance, he set a quota of essential commodities such as a specific amount of rice, meat, petroleum, and so forth; then, he allocated this amount to each person in this country so that much of their vital needs were satisfied in a low-cost manner. By doing so, dealers’ interference in the economy that could lead to both severe famine and inflation diminished. Despite the fact that present-day detractors of such a method dismiss it as an obsolete method, its efficiency at that time is indisputable, as it protected people, especially the poverty-stricken, from an extreme shortage of edible merchandises. Another way to show the superiority of his management techniques in such a difficult situation is to make a comparison between his presidential period in which was at the same time with one of the longest war in the world and the period in which oil price reached its zenith, but Iranian people witnessed sky-high prices while the country was in relative peace.

After his presidential period, he never took governmental responsibilities and positions for about twenty years because of significant discord over primal governmental principals between him and other governors, specifically the second Supreme Leader of Iran, Ali Khamenei. Nonetheless, owing to the advent of unprecedented corruption and hypocrisy among governors, he decided to nominate himself as president again for the sake of Iran and its people. His nomination and sharp criticisms made people awake and created hopes for fundamental reformations among people. He dauntlessly pointed out both the corruption and the statistical manipulation of the preview government competing again for the next presidential period. These circumstances led to the Green Movement and resulted in the greatest political participation after Iran’s revolution. His absolute triumph notwithstanding, the election result was otherwise. There was a great amount of evidence denoting immense election fraud in the election. Unlike the other defeated candidates, he expressed his objections to election manipulation, wanted to hold the election again, and wanted to capture persons responsible for the fraud. Nevertheless, eventually, not only were the objections, protests, and demonstrations were suppressed, but Mir-Hossein Mousavi was also captured. Although he has been house arrested for ten years, he has never retreated and expressed contrition, but rather highlighted the vote right as the necessary human right and reproached the politicians who have been neutral about these democratically destructive circumstances.

In conclusion, I hail Mir-Hossein Mousavi as an influential leader due to his proper management techniques as well as his courage to announce the truth and insist on it. I wish he would release sometime, and there would be dignitaries like him in the future.