Memorising facts is the most important way to succeed in education.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Relying solely on memory is an underestimation of the whole education process, as it only contributes to a portion of it. And yet, surprisingly, students use it as a primary tool to succeed in the school or even university. In this essay, I will express my opposition to that it is wrong to be a clipboard in the learning process, meanwhile, I will elaborate on some reasons .

Memorizing their textbooks, learners are not any successful than those who do not. That is because understanding is the key to be an outstanding endeavor, as it not only advances a student carrier, after graduation, but also in life. The rationale behind that is students, terrified, do not want to forget what they have learned cumulatively. Nevertheless, not a human is shielded when it comes to forgetting information, yet it is not the best way to do it. Most textbooks are designed to be understood, especially math, biology, and technology. In a math book, for instance, author present a formula that put to explain how a particular conclusion was achieved. This suggests that you, as a student, need to rather understand not to memorize those calculations. If it were remembered, it would be difficult to use it as the input numbers to that formula will be changed. Even though the learner may able to pass a test based on keeping the information in memory, it has a time limit before it diminishes. Thus, it will negatively contribute if the job, after graduation, needs those concepts resulting in a carrier failure.

On another side of the coin, some schools have a policy where a student must give an oral exam, which should be spontaneous. In this situation, the learner may get nervous, and the memorized information would not be presented precisely. Thus, it can lead to getting mediocre marks; consequently, it will affect a student's GPA.

All in all, while students prefer memorizing over understanding, I am a huge fan of the latter. Overall, there is one way to be successful; that is understanding and stop remembering.