The more money a person has, the more he or she should give away to the charities.

As the society develops, more issues such as the gap of property have also surfaced. Therefore, people have debated about the approaches to eradicating poverty and achieving a better balance between the poor and wealthy. Some claim that wealthy people should donate more money to charities to help the government narrow the gap. However, in my opinion, we should not demand the wealthy to give away their money for the following reasons.

Firstly, though it will make a huge difference if the rich can devote more money, they are entitled to allocate money only according to their own free will. Admittedly, some people may have been more fortunate and seized more resources, after which they even have exploited others to work overtime in order to chase after more profits. However, governments are all aware of the fact and have enacted certain policies and laws to alleviate the situation. For example, both in China and America, the most wealthy people are imposed as high as 75 percent of income tax and inheritance tax. The revenues are channeled into fiscal expenditure such as public welfare and medical care. In this way, people with more money have already fulfilled their obligations for the society and contributed a lot, be willingly or reluctantly. As a result, it is inappropriate to ask them again to dedicate another portion of their property to charity organizations without legitimate claims. What’s worse, the demand itself is a violation of property laws that guarantee citizens’ basic human right to claim their own property. If their money could not be protected, people with less property would feel more panicked, which can cause universal distrust for the government and system that require people with more money to sacrifice more for charity causes.

Secondly, forcing the rich to donate more money can have backlash effects, reversing their original aim to build a better society. For example, according to the Harvard University Professor of Economics Gregory Manikw's "10 Principles of Economics," social welfare programs both from the government and charity organizations, particularly for the underemployed or unemployed, can create disincentives for people to find gainful employment. Manikw asserts that people respond to incentives.They are willing to work since there is the motivation to earn an income. However, asking the rich to donate more can risk removing this incentive by providing stable salaries for those who are unemployed or unwilling to work, meaning they no longer have a need to become part of the labor force. What’s worse, with more funds from organizations ready to offer, it is more likely for people to file fraudulent applications and ask for support and food stamps. As a result, the whole production of the society may quickly fall. Thus the proposal that people among the top rich should donate more should be negated.

Admittedly, some may claim that wealthy people do not need such a large amount of money, and thus should contribute more to the development of the society. However, it is not sustainable to require them just to donate money to charities. Instead, they could invest more in upgrading and advancing modern technology that can radically increase the efficiency of production, such as what Musk from Tesla has been doing. Also, they could support new born businesses and expand job openings, helping more people to support themselves and get own on their own feet.

For the reasons and examples mentioned above, I strong disagree with the statement.