Most of the environmental issues are too complex today. Individuals can do nothing about them.

There is no denying the fact that nowadays environmental issues have been increasingly serious. In spite of that, one thing is certain. Most of these issues are caused by human being. In other words, if we could be aware of our unwise behaviors and do our best to correct them, the world will be a better place. Thus, in my opinion, individuals are fully capable to improve the environment.

First of all, desertification in most areas results primarily from human activities rather than natural process. Expanding populations are subjecting the land to the increasing pressure to provide them with food. To achieve this goal, overcultivation appears. As you see, the raising of crops necessitates the prior removal of natural vegetation. With the population density growing, the cultivation of corps has expanded increasingly to drier places. As a result, wetland in semiarid places and natural vegetation are gradually disappearing. Then, species who have long adapted to those environments are losing their home, which endanger their life. If we indulge ourselves in overcultivation, the next specie to extinct will be our human being. However, if we could take the step to control overcultivation, our environment will be improved soon. For instance, governments could set law to prohibit such action, and school could add environmental science program to educate children from an early age. I believe with such awareness increased, desertification will be reduced to a lower degree.

Secondly, due to the firewood gathering, forests have been disappearing at an incredible rate. As you see, human's need for fuel has never been met. We dig out the earth to find fossil fuel and absorb the sun light to get solar fuel. However, the most cost-saving and convenient way is burning the firewood. People chop thousands tons trees every day and burn it without post proceeding. Consequently, lots of CO2 have been released into the atmosphere. What makes matter even worst is that due to the deforestation, there is nothing as functional as trees in absorbing the CO2. That's how global warming takes place. In other words, we bring this on ourselves. But just imagine what if we stop cutting the trees. Such situation could be ameliorated, couldn't it?

To draw a conclusion, since most of the environmental problems are caused by ourselves, we are fully capable to solve these problems if we stop our improper behaviors. If we stop cutting trees, the forest won't disappear and global warming won't happen. Also, if we prohibit overcultivation, dessert won't be expanded and the habitat for those rare animals won't be reduced. Therefore, I strongly believe that individuals have ability to turn this situation around.