Movies and television programs should present stories of good people being rewarded

and bad people being punished.

Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

People often possess different perspectives on what stories multimedia should present to the public. As for me, I strongly agree that television programs and movies should show contents of good people being rewarded and bad people being punished.

First of all, multimedia should focus on public security, and presenting stories of good people being rewarded and bad people being punished can enhance public security. For example, four years ago, Japanese television NHK established a series program of law cases. In brief, the program elaborated the consequences that drug dealers and murderers had faced. Moreover, it illustrated that the average period for a prisoner in jail is ten years. As a result, people felt fear about the penalties, and Japan’s crime rate started to drop 2% every year as well. On the other hand, if the NHK were not to emphasize the consequence of a crime, potential criminals would not understand the penalty of misdoing. Therefore, the crime rate might be continuously rising, and people will surely feel scared all the time.

Secondly, movies and television programs should put emphasis on education, and presenting stories of the kind will educate the public. For instance, recently, a television TVBS in my country has produced a new talk show to preach helping others. To be more specific, the talk show invites people who always gives help, and share their thoughts of helping others. Moreover, because their stories are so true and inspirational, everyone is touched when watching the show. As a result, I see so many people helping elders cross the street. On the contrary, if there was no such show to depict helping others, people might still behave coldly to each other in our daily life. Consequently, we all may be ignored when we need help.

Last but not least, multimedia should care about reputation, and presenting this kind of contents can help gain a higher reputation. Take a Singaporean television SBS as an

example, it has made several episodes to advocate the importance of obeying the law. Also, those episodes are so popular because they regard people’s daily lives. As a result, this

channel has become the iconic value of every Singaporean. In contrast, if SBS did not put efforts to present the rule of law, people might consider the television as an ordinary one.

Apparently, the television would not end with such reputation.

In conclusion, I argue that movies and television programs should present stories of good people being rewarded and bad people being punished. After all, this multimedia generally cares about public security, education and more importantly, reputation.