A new teaching method, professor record a video in advance for students to learn, class time used to answer questions and have discussions. Is it an effective method?

How to better educate students is always the core topic for faculties and parents around the world. Nowadays, a new teaching method appears in public that students learn course knowledge by watching a video recorded by professor and ask questions and have a discussion during the class time. In my view, I firmly believe that this is the best way to for students to learn a new class effectively.

First, with the help of this method students will be forced to think independently and learn things through understanding. In the past, students use more than 90% of the class time to learned theoretical knowledge taught by professors rather than think about the knowledge by themselves. Even though some professors will give them about ten minutes to ask their questions and doubts about the lectures, most students cannot find a valid question or even do not want to think about it. By using this method, because students have to spend 100%of the class time to discuss and ask questions about the lecture and they do not want to be speechless during a whole class, they have to learn from the professor seriously and think about the content by themselves rather than just learning things by rote. In order to ask valid questions, students may try to do more extracurricular readings. Only thinking and learning by themselves, they can truly make use of the study time and be well-acquainted with their curriculum and all of this will be really enlightening in their formative years.

Second, it will be a good way for students to appraise their teacher’s performance and encourage professors to improve their teaching skills. In the past, professors cannot know the students’ feedback of classes quickly because they left classrooms when the classes over, and students do not have enough time to think about the content. For example, my professor who teaches communication and media always talk with us too many current news rather than the important and difficult theories, whereas our classmates want to learn more about theoretical knowledge. The problem is that we do not have the opportunity to tell him about our needs. If our professor can use this method, we can not only tell him our demands directly but also let him know we do not have a good knowledge of theories by asking questions.

In conclusion, using a video to teach students and giving them more opportunities to think and ask questions on their own is an excellent method for both students and teachers.