Nowadays, children rely too much on the technology, like computers, smart phone, video games, for fun and entertainment. Playing simpler toys or playing outside with friends would be better for the children's development.

As the information technology prospers, our daily life is changing constantly. Children’s entertainments are totally different now. More and more kids prefer to play computer games instead of having fun with friends outdoors. They rely so much on the smart and portable devices that they forget the importance and advantages of playing simpler toys, which are better for children’s development in fact.

Firstly, playing simpler toys fosters children’s imagination. In TV series, video games and other high-technology entertainments, everything, from stories to rules, is set, leaving no room for children to create anything. In contrast, the simpler the toys are, the more space there is for children’s imagination. In this way, even a small garden can be a magical kingdom for children. Rocks and dirt won’t limit creativity. Putting different ideas into the same toys, children play in a new way every time , also their own way. Unfortunately, imagination is what high-tech entertainment is not able to bring them.

Secondly, Playing outside in a simple way is good for children’s health. Most outdoor activities such as football and baseball contain a lot of body movements. While running and jumping in the field, children breathe fresh air outside and get exercise. As a consequence, their body is strengthened. However, playing with computers or smart phones lacks such advantages. Too much screen time only contributes to more sedentary lifestyle and turns increasing number of kids to couch potatoes. Moreover, it also results in short eyesight and obesity problems. From this perspective, we can also draw the conclusion that simple outdoor games are better.

Thirdly, playing outside helps children make friends. Children learn to cooperate with others through multiplayer games. There is no better way to promote friendship than to play an outdoor ball game. Children become familiar and begin to build trong ties in outdoors games. It’s also a great chance to make new friends. I met one of my best friends Bess when I was playing badminton with my cousin. She was quite interested in badminton too. Owning to the same hobby, we soon became friends. And even until now, we still play badminton together several times a year.

Although high-technology equipments can provide children with relaxation, its drawbacks are also obvious. In contrast, simple activities enable a child to have friends, vivid imagination and a strong body. Without doubts, it’s more beneficial for children’s all-round development in the long run.