Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer. Be sure to use your own words. Do not use memorized examples.

Some students and some professor thinks that working in group doesn't help some students because either their partner or they don't work to their full potential. Personally, I believe working in groups can help everyone learn a lot of new things and gain a lot of experience and knowledge that can help them in their life always. I feel this way for the following three reasons.

Firstly, students working in group can sometime benefit from the marks they get because of the other students in the group. If the student itself has been not in the great looks of the teacher then doing an individual project can create a problem for the student. So, if the student is in a group with some good students it can help him. My personal experience is a compelling illustration of this, I was in my first year engineering a few years back and I was an decent student, used to submit my assignments and everything on time unlike one of my good friend. He wasn't a bad student he just procastinated a lot. We both had a project group in which we both did equal amount of work and got the same marks that we deserved. However, if we were going to this this as an individual project then it would have been difficult for my friend to score such good marks no matter how good his projects could have been. This is why sometimes working in group helps everyone because in this project I learned a lot from him and that helped me a lot.

Secondly, currently the students in university have so much going on at a time that it is difficult for them to work on a project single-handedly. This doesn't mean they are not capable but it's better if they can divide the work with their peers and rely on them because, this will help them in corporates as well while working on any project. For instance, during my bachelor's degree I wanted to try every other thing, I took part in couple of college clubs and I had a few internships going on simultaneously. So, when my project came into picture I was already swamped up with a lot of work, I barely had time for the project to be done completely by myself. I was so relieved when it mentioned that it is supposed to be done in groups because, of this my workload got almost half and easily manageable. However, it wouldn't have been possible for me to get such a great score that I got if I was doing this project alone as it won't be possible for me to give my best at that time.

In conclusion, I strongly feel that unless the students complain about their partners working less they should be given the same grade. This is because teachers sometime can be biased during evaluating or sometime the students won't be able to give their 100 percent.