Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Educating people and encouraging students to study hard and appropriately is always an important issue for schools and universities. There has always been a controversial debate on how students should be evaluated by their group projects. Some people believe that all the group members should receive the same grade when they work in a group; however, I firmly stand for the view that students should not be evaluated the same when they work together on a joint project. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in this essay.

First of all, many high schools and universities nowadays assign group projects for students to work together more efficiently. Although it is a good idea and can improve students' social skills, giving the same mark can make some students disappointed and make them less enthusiastic about the project. In other words, there are students with different abilities and talents in all classes, and those talented students who work hard will not be happy with receiving the same grade as others. For example, when I was a student at school, I had to give a presentation with two of my classmates about marine biology. I worked and studied a lot for that presentation, but my groupmates just brought useless information about that topic. Finally, we could get the highest mark for the project in the class, but I thought that was not a fair evaluation. Since then, I have preferred not to join group projects and do my own.

Furthermore, giving the same grade to all the groupmates encourages some students to make friends with top students to participate in their groups and benefit from their work. In other words, it causes some students to show themselves differently to receive higher marks. For example, when I was studying in high school, one of my classmates was friendly, and she was always talking and giving snacks to me. After a while, our teacher asked us to make a group with our friends to conduct biology research together and receive an extra point for our final exam. As I was the best student in the class, she tried to become my friend to get a high grade for the project. After we finished the project, she never talked to me again. I understood that she made friends to benefit from other students in a shared group project.

In conclusion, although some people think that giving the same grade to all the students who participate in a shared project can be an efficient way to evaluate students, I totally disagree with this idea. Not only do top students become less enthusiastic about their studies, but other students can also pretend to be their friends and benefit from them.