Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

There are different opinions on the effective method of evaluating students, which is a significant matter in today's education system. Even though some people think that even if students work in a group, they should be evaluated independently and only based on their personal performance, I believe otherwise, maintaining that when students work in a team, the performance of the whole group must be considered and evaluated. In what follows, I will delve into the most persuasive reason to substantiate my perspective.

Without a doubt, the most consequential reason corroborating my stance on this subject is that when students become aware that the whole group is assessed rather than individuals, they put their effort into the correct path. All group members try their best to do their parts in the best way to not dissipate their teammates' strive. Some years ago, compelling research was done on this subject. Students were divided into two groups, and each group was asked to work on a similar project for a spell of one week. The first group was told that they would be evaluated individually, but the second group was notified that the performance of the whole group would be assessed at the end of the week. The result was staggering; the first group could not finish the project, while the second group did it utterly and in the best way. Therefore, this reason manifests that when students are urged to work in a team, the whole team is supposed to be evaluated rather than each member discretely.

Although the previous reason is the first one crossing the mind at first glance, another remarkable point deserving some words here is by apprising the students that the entire group is going to be appraised, they are more inclined to help each other to achieve the team goal. This gives rise to a teamwork spirit in them, which is lucrative for both their future career and education. Drawing from my own experience, in the second year of my education at university, we were supposed to work in a group in an aircraft design course. Each member undertook a distinctive part of the project, and mine was to design the wing. The week before the due date, my friend working on the interior design section did not finish his part. Consequently, other team members, including me, helped him to finish his part since we knew that the entire team would get the same grade. Had the professor not used this approach, we would not have helped him, and the teamwork spirit in me now would not have existed at all. Thus, this point illustrates the fact that grading the entire group help students to improve their teamwork skill.

To make the long story short, many people are in favor of the notion that each student should be graded based on his personal achievements and performance, no matter whether he is doing the project solely or in tandem with his friends. Nevertheless, the foregoing points lead us to conclude that not only does considering the entire group's performance y improve the entire team's productivity, but it also poses teamwork spirit in each member.