Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups, and all members of the group receive the same grade (mark) on the project. Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to evaluate students?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer Be sure to use your own words Do not use memorized examples.

With the prevailing of education opportunities compared to the past, students nowadays appreciate abundant chances of developing balanced skills by working on various genres of assignments ranging from speeches to group projects. When it comes to whether giving all the members of a group project with the same grade is practical for students’ sufficient education, individuals’ opinions differ from person to person. While some might consider that it is better to give same marks for members of a group to evaluate the work completed as a whole, I, on the contrary, contend in the ultimate analysis that it is more effective for students to learn thoroughly from the group work if their individual works were also evaluated in details.

To commence with, one of the most compelling reasons in advocacy of the thesis is that it would keep the students in a group project highly motivated when their individual works were rated. In a group project, every students are taking some part of the assignment. Even though this leads to some students to have less responsibilities to complete the task, it is also unable to prevent a part of students to become lazy and do not perform well. For instance, there is a famous scientific research that about twenty presents of a group of forager ants would never actually go find food since other eighty-percent ants are working diligently enough. Then, researchers only collected these hardworking ants and watched them. As a result, in a group of diligent ants, there were still twenty percent of ants who had decided to take a rest and put works to others. This means that in a group, ther will always have this situations of someone working hard and others do not. Therefore, when their individual works were supervised by the system of rating each person’s performances, they might become more aware of the importance of working hard to complete the task.

What is more, marking members of a group individually would eventually cultivate students’ skills by making them recognize the particular types of skills they lack. When students complete tasks with others, they tend to do what they are most good at to perform efficiently in such a big project. Doing so would eventually cause them to be never aware of the skills they are really lacking of. For instance, when my sister was in a college, she had a debate about protecting the environment. The professor announced students that on this debate everyone should include opinions about what others had said in their speeches. She had never tried to mention others, but this time she was finally aware that she should practice paying attention more on others’ opinions. If she had not have this chance to mention what other members in a group had said, she would never realize this problem she had owned.

Indeed, it is indisputable that one of the most unique feature of a group project is to improve teamwork and communication skills. However, dividing a big, difficult projects into different part of works and deciding who would take responsibilities for each would actually illuminate them with the awareness of having fluent communications with others. Thus, it is not always necessary to have their works evaluated as a whole to have better teamwork or communication.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that marking students with the same grade allows them to cooperate each other and complete the assignment as a whole, the benefits grading them individually has far outweighs the drawbacks.