Is it as important for older people to learn and study new things as young people to do so?

It is widely acknowledged that learning new things does not take roles in the old’s life as big as that of the young’s. However, I firmly believe that learning new things is always meaningful in every generation. I hold this opinion for several reasons which are the self-improvement, discoveries of new interests, and the enhanced connections between different ages.

To begin with, learning new skills or knowledges is responsible for the old to become more confident through making self-improvements. Usually, the young study for getting better careers to survive in the societies, but not for getting pure improvements that possibly are irrelevant to their practical aims. The old, however, are not putting the study that is accompanied with practical aim in the top priority. Instead, they are seeking for self-improvement. For instance, my grandmother had started gardening several years ago responding her curiosity toward benefits of organic food on her body. Through learning nutrition and chemical properties of different types of soils or fertilizers, she became more confident about maintaining health through diets. This demonstrates that studying about one’s purely interested field actually benefits them, especially for the old.

In addition, expanding one’s mind field by learning new things allows them to have wider genres their interests point at. Since every academic field is corresponding each other, learning one kind of things enhance the chance to learn about other fields. In my grandmother’s case, studying food nutrition in detail exposed her into biological field, that is, she started to learn more about genetics by following her questions about genetically modified food crops. Her curiosity is not limited in food area anymore; instead, she is passionate about learning more about the mystery of genetics, which is becoming her motivation toward life.

Furthermore, studying equips individuals with knowledges that help the old to communicate with others in the societies, thus creating stronger relationships with the communities they are belonging in. The young usually struggle to communicate with the old since the generation gap between them are hard to be ignored by the young in trends. On the other hand, if they have common topic to talk about, their communication will become more smooth. And this might be achieved by the old who are willing to study about new culture and, at the same time, hopeful about teaching next generations about traditional cultures they are professional at. Take my teacher as an example. He is keen on jazz music, however his students are fond of listening popular music more than jazz music. In order to know why this tendency occurs, he started to listen to pops and read many books explaining the shift of people’s music preferences. Then he had many conversations about music with his students, consequently succeeded in introducing great jazz pieces and getting information of popular music the young are favoring at.

In conclusion, although it is undeniable that studying is relatively more time-worthy for the young compared to the old, the benefits individuals gain from studying is priceless throughout one’s life, regardless of the age he or she begins to do so.