Nowadays many high schools and universities require students to work on projects in groups and all members of the group receive the same grade mark on the project Do you agree or disagree that giving every member of a group the same grade is a good way to

Educational institutions require students to do projects in groups. Although this practice is very beneficial and helps students perform in groups, but there are some challenges when it comes to evaluating the participants. Some argue that all the students who have participated should be rewarded similarly, while some posit the idea that not all students do the same work in the project and should be evaluated individually. In my opinion, in the group projects, students should be graded based on their contributions. There are several reasons for that.

First of all, it is apparent that some students allocate more time to their studies and work harder. We all have had peers in our classes who are lazy and do not dedicate their time to school and projects. When they are paired with more hard-working students in a project, it gives them an extra reason not to study. If some students work harder and prepare an outstanding project, the lazier students will still be rewarded. It is not fair for the students who have devoted more time and worked harder. They might have sacrificed other classes for this one because they had to carry the work load of another person.

Second of all, clarifying that students who are on the same team will receive scores based on their contributions encourages individual students to work harder to take part. In group projects, based on the time allocated and the skill sets, people contribute to different degrees. If the instructor makes it clear that he/she will give marks based on how well individuals have contributed, not only will it encourage lazier students, but it will also result in more hard-workers not getting discouraged. The more hard-working students might be discouraged if they are rewarded at the same level as others. Individual evaluations can help in preventing that.

All in all, the benefits of group projects are evident. This helps students learn how to communicate with their peers and how to combine their skill sets to tackle problems. When it comes to marking the contributions, the instructors should opt for a way that is not unfair to the participants, encourages the lazier contributors, and does not discourage the hard-working members. The best way to ensure that is through individual evaluations.