Nowadays, many movies or films are based on books. Some people prefer to read the original book before they watch the movie, while others prefer to watch the movie before reading the book. Which one do you prefer and why?

Nowadays, a lot of movies are based on celebrated books. To my mind, both of variants of learning a story have their pros and cons. Nevertheless,

particularly for me, it's better and more enjoyable to read a book first, and watch a movie in addition after. A great deal of information is being missed in movies, so it's better to read a book to understand and feel the story entirely.

First and foremost, I would like to point out, that I don't generally watch movies or TV series, so it's hard for me to state my opinion. Even though, I prefer books or comics to movies, first of all because story in a book is originally written by one author. The plot is presented in its former variant, without any adjustments from scenarists of movies or whoever. Therefore, you can plunge into the story and characters completely, feeling their emotions by not seeing the actors' game, but by imagining scenes by yourself. The most renowned example is "Harry Potter". People are fascinated by movies, but some of them, who didn't read the books, don't even realize how much information and details about characters' stories has been cut out.

Secondly, another valuable reason to read a book in advance - is the describtion of acting figures' appearances made by writer. In the movies, appearance of a character can differ or have some missed features. It has always disappointed me in live actions. However, I can't deny the existence of some movies or series, like "Lord of Ring" or others. All parts of these movies are very interesting to watch and the computer graphics in them is on another level. Moreover, sometimes people just don't have enough time to read a book, so they prefer to watch a movie and familiarize themselves with a story at least a little bit.

To sum up, I personally prefer to read a book first. Consequently, if I liked the story, I might be pleased to watch a well-made movie. Because even after reading whole bunch of books, another way of presenting a story can give you a second thought and make you rethink the most important message of a story in a new perspective.