A or D? Nowadays it is easier to maintain good health than it was in the past.

Contrary to the popular belief that it is much easier to maintain good health in the modern society than it was in the past, I honestly believe it is as difficult for people to stay healthy now as it was for their counterparts in the past.

In previous times, the distribution of medical service was not so extensive, a direct result of which was when people fell ill, they would have difficulties in finding a clinic or hospital in their neighborhood. Particularly, in the case of someone accidentally infected by a severe virus or regularly tortured by deadly cancer, it would take that person several months or probably nearly one year to find the right hospital that can conduct certain surgeries or developments in medicine still led to residents’ sufferings from illness. Worse of all, in a society where neither was wealth distributed broadly, large amounts of people in the past were unable to afford the medicines they were in need of. Nor were they able to provide their body with necessary nutrients by making healthy food choices---no adequate money, no appropriate food.

In our era, however, although improvements in medicine and higher standards of living seem to have eliminated the difficulties past generations once encountered, difficulties in maintaining good health still stand in the way. Aren’t today’s people under more pressure and thus more psychologically unhealthy? Don’t today’s people fall ill more often than did their counterparts in the old days? Economic and social development, apparently, comes hand-in-hand with environmental deterioration and pollution. The air we breathe, the water we drink, and the food we eat become heavily contaminated. Various kinds of pollution can trigger heart attacks, strokes, and irregular heart rhythms, particularly in people already at risk for these conditions. True, medication or treatment work better nowadays, but increased risks of different diseases still make it harder for modern people to maintain good health.

In a nutshell, despite the fact that health is one of the things most valued by human beings, it is not so easy to maintain good health for people in the past as well as people in the current society.