In order to attract more tourists, the government could either improve safety by hiring more police or improve its appearance by repairing old buildings and streets.

Which way do you think is more effective?

There is no doubt that nowadays, the tourism industry plays the key role in people’s lives. No one can deny the direct and indirect effects of tourism. It is a no-brainer that having more tourists leads to improving the economic status and increase public wealth. Some people are inclined toward the opinion that to attract more tourists, the government should improve safety. However, some others may take an opposite viewpoint and believe that the government should improve appearance. From my own perspective, the second belief is true. I hold this because of two reasons that I will explore in the essay.

The first reason coming to mind to substantiate my standpoint is concerned with this issue that by improving appearance the whole city will become eye appealing which leads to attracting more tourists. It goes without saying that historical buildings are in danger of destruction. If the government does not repair them, they gradually will be destroyed. The more they become wear and tear, the more their attractiveness is decreased, so fewer tourists get attracted. To shed light in this view, Persepolis in my country is one of the most glorious buildings of Cyrus the great kingdom of 3000 years ago. Thousands of tourists annually came to Iran to see this distinguished building. The government did not pay attention to repair this building. Gradually, Persepolis get destroyed, so the number of tourists who were coming and visiting that is decreased significantly. Had the government repaired this building, the number of tourists would have not been decreased.

Another equally noteworthy point supporting this opinion is that by repairing streets and improving facilities, tourists enjoy more which leads to coming more tourists. Tourists need some facilities to enjoy more such as restrooms, clean streets, eye catching scenes and so on. Providing these facilities help tourists have a good memory of their trips. They talk with others about their trips and encourage them to go to that place. Some people argue that we should spend more money on safety, because without safety, we will not have the tourism industry. Although this point of view is true, people with this opinion should consider the fact that safety is not the main goal of tourists, they come here to see historical buildings, so the worn-out buildings will not charm tourists even if there is safety.

To make a long story short, all the aforementioned reasons lead us to the conclusion that improving buildings' appearance has a lot of benefits that outweigh the benefits of enhancing safety because of increasing attractiveness and forming good memory in tourists' minds. However, that was a story in a nutshell. Actually, there are some other reasons and examples, challenging the claim, which are not pointed out above. All in all, it is recommended that the government pay more attention to historical buildings to appeal more tourists.