In the past people were more friendly than they are today. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

One people's social relationship with others is the most important aspect of his life, and to some extent determines the life he lives in. Nowadays, some people claim that in comparison with past, people now do not treat others around him friendly enough. I strongly agree with such statement for the following reasons.

The increasingly competitive and stressful society have driven people to become more concerned about their own benefits. In the past, there were not so many people and the capacity of our society was enough to provide everybody with the equal opportunity. But now, the condition has been changed dramatically. Our society is no longer able to support the increasing number of people. As the consequence, in order to live a better life or to avoid falling behind, people today have to try their best to pursue every chance to improve themselves. That is why people become more indifferent about other people's feelings and benefits than in the past. Therefore, people become less friendly not because of selfish, but due to the contradiction between a growing population and limited social resources.

Besides the more competitive society, the advanced communication technology has contributed greatly to the decrease of friendliness. In the past, we usually share our feelings with the person who live closely with us, like our parents or our neighbors. The more feeling we share with others the closer relationship we will enjoy, thus, we would be more concerned about the people around us. But now, the Internet have connected people all around the globe, and it seems that we live in a big online community, where we can chat and communicate with each other without being blocked by the time and distance. Although it seems that we have more friends and more relationships, the number of people we really care about or the people who care about us is decreasing. Since we no longer live together like in the past, we usually do not have the common things that we are both interested in to talk about and also would not be willing to sharing our true feeling with others. So, the advances in the communication technology are also essential factors that make people less friendly.

From what have mentioned above, people today do become less friendly than in the past. But, this tendency results from the development of society and there is no way to avoid it.