In the past, young people depended too much on their parents to make decisions for them;

today young people are better able to make decisions about their own lives

Over the past years, the issue of whether or not previous generations were more dependent on their parents for making decision compares to the new generations has received a great deal of attention from parents and psychologists. Although some may say that in this era children are more dependent on their parents rather than the previous generation because of a hectic lifestyle; I, as well as many others, believe that young people are less dependent on their parents for making decisions for the future because they have enough source and knowledge for their determinations.

First of all, an important reason why juveniles are independent for making a decision is that the lifestyle is far different from previous generations. In the past, children were dependent on their fathers and mothers. Young boys helped father in farmland or helped them for bringing up their domestic animals such as cows or ships. Also, the young girls had been helped mother for doing home activities like cooking food, cooking bread, cleaning home and many other activities like that, so these children have followed their parent lifestyle, and they had listened to them when parents made a decision for them.

Another reason for this point of view is that children’s awareness is increased by growing high technology in this age. By introducing high technology such as word wide web, electronic device, smartphones and many other items to human life, the information of people is increased. They can not only find adequate information from the internet but also compare the different source of information so that they would make decisions easier than past. Furthermore, children, who growing up in the high technology era, spend a lot of time at school, and in school, they not only learn lessons but also learn how to make a decision in the best ways for the future. However, the previous generation did not go to school or university, and they had not been learning how to become independent, so their parents made a decision for them.

Finally, it is occasionally said that young people have learned to multi-task in this time. Many experts believe that in order to have many information sources, children are able to follow their aim so that they can learn many skills as a profession. For example, if a child wants to learn graphic, he would download many films from the internet, and starting to learn the skill without considering parents opinion. Also, they can watch videos from YouTube to better learn this skill. Finally, he will become a flourishing graphic designer in future.

In conclusion, considering the ideas presented in the paragraphs above, I personally believe that parents had more influence on children’s lives in the past than now chiefly due to the advancement of technology.