People attend college or university for many different reasons (for example,

new experiences, career preparation, increased knowledge). Why do you think

people attend college or university? Use specific reasons and examples to support

your answer.

As the title states above, people attend college or university for many different reasons. Some of the main reasons are: pursuing a career, achieving better position in a society or even getting high-paid job. For whichever reason somebody decides to study and attend university or college they surely have an aim in their life.

In my case I wanted to pursue a career in medicine. Besides putting skills and knowledge in helping others, it also seemed to me as a great opportunity for the future personal development in the field of science. I come from a country in transition, form a third world country let’s say. Having high education and pursuing a career in a science field as medicine, gives you opportunity to continue your work and career in the more developed countries.

There are people who come from poor, rural areas and whose idea is to get a better job and higher life standard by having high education. This is one of the main reasons why people come to big cities. Although it is not easy leaving home, birthplace, family and friends those people usually doesn’t have other option but to chase a better life in a different place.

Others may want to improve their current job position by having a university degree. There are a lot of examples of people who didn’t have a chance to attend university after high school for different reasons. Having only high school education they are usually forced to do jobs which are hard, physically demanding and low paid. At some point in their lives, chance for a better education can appear and that leads to higher salary.

In my opinion it is very important to enable all people to attend university and get education. Countries should work towards enabling free or affordable education for everyone. Knowledge is most valuable thing that someone can have and in today’s world, knowledge is like a currency with which you can get a better life.