People in communities can make decisions that protect and improve the natural environment. Which one is the most useful?

A. plant trees and create parks

B. persuade local shops to stop providing plastic bags to customers

C. increase access to public transportation to reduce the number of automobiles on local roads

Protecting the natural environment is the crucial thing we need to do in modern society. Though all three environmentally-improving movements offered in the prompt are important, in my opinion, increasing access to public transportation to reduce the number of automobiles is the vital one.

To begin with, people need transportation every day, and increasing public transportation will greatly reduce pollution caused by vehicle exhaust. Convenient transportation enables people to go to any place they want that we cannot live without them in the modern society. Since the public transportation is not easily accessible in my society, almost every family, if not every adult owns a car. However, these huge numbers of automobiles produce pollution, harm our health, and decrease air quality. Thus, if communities can increase public transportation, then people can decrease their dependence on their own cars which not only produces pollution but also cost much to maintain. This way, the pollution caused by this huge number of automobiles can reduce significantly.

Another reason that we are required to reduce the number of automobiles is that this policy protects the habitats of wild animals. In order to enable people to use these automobiles conveniently and avoid traffic jams, we need vast areas of land to build not only roads but also parking lots. Thus, automobiles take lots of space which is the home of many other species. But if we reduce our private cars and take public transportation, then there are fewer automobiles. As a result, we no longer need to increase the numbers of roads, parking lots, and we can even return some space back to wild animals.

The last but most important reason is that this big number of automobiles consume crude oil tremendously which is the root cause of global warming. We can reduce this problem if we increase the access to public transportation. For example, the new mayor in my city increased the routes and the numbers of buses significantly. From then on, the amount of oil we consume in our city is reduced by 20% in one year. In other words, increasing public transportation is a useful strategy to slow the trend of global warming.

Admittedly, some people might argue that planting trees, creating parks, or persuading local shops to stop providing plastic bags are more important. However, with the reasons I mentioned above, I believe that increasing access to public transportation to reduce the number of automobiles is the most crucial one that communities should do immediately.