People who lead groups should talk about their own ides while other listen, or they should listen to people in the group's ideas instead of talking?

In my opinion, I think it is better that a leader in a group listens to members' ideas rather than keeps talking and presenting his or her own idea only. The following are reasons and advantages of listening over talking.

First, the group leader will receive various views point and have best solution to a specific problem rather than one of his own idea. There will always be chances that more people will come up with different ideas than one person's idea. So, by listening his under supervised members, the leader will have expanding perspectives to improve a specific condition they have. For example, when I was working in a retail store in Thailand, my boss always set up meeting among workers in the store every day before the store opened. She explained the store situation or problems very short, and then she asked us to share our ideas for the solutions to those problems. The result was that we came up with many different ideas that some were make sense and practical and some were unpractical. However, we did a vote so that all of us could pick only the most efficient one to improve our store quality. My boss admitted that she might not be able to come up with a better solution if she had to solve these obstacles by her own.

Second, the leader could encourage the members to participate in a group and have responsible to their own ideas. For example, take the situation in my previous retail store as example, when the employees decided to choose the solution that most people agreed with, then they had to do an action to follow their proposal as best as they could. For example, we often had a very declined sale after the end of high tourists season starting from July though October every year. The boss did meetings and we ended up with the solution that we would do more advertising to people in our area and cut the price of some potential products to encourage local people to spend their money at our store. Once a week that one employee will need to distribute advertising flyers around to town. Even though this was not addressed on our job duties, we were willing to do by our heart because this came from our ideas. We also proposed to increase our quality of service such as fast speed at cashier points and we did as we suggested. The result was that we could boost our sale higher than usual sale.

In conclusion, I think those reasons are sufficient enough to support the statement why the leader should listen to their members' ideas rather than keep talking and presenting their own idea only.