A person should never make an important decision alone

No one can deny that making decisions can prove to be challenging. In my opinion, one should always make decisions with someone, and never alone. I feel this for two reasons, which I will be exploring in the subsequent paragraphs.

To being with, making decisions can be stressful. The stress associated with making decisions can even be the cause of anxiety, affecting the mental health of the individual negatively along with the physical health. But if the individual consults someone or asks someone to help them make decisions, this stress and anxiety will be reduced. For example, when my friend had to make a decision to choose a college, he was stressed, frustrated. His application deadline was approaching fast. He lost his weight, he performed poorly in every test, he was kicked off his basketball team. After taking my advise of consulting a career conselor, he finally made the decision to join one of the ivy colleges. If he had never consulted the conselor, made his decision alone, he would have ended up with irrecoverable damages.

Secondly, asking for someone’s help while making a decision, can provide the individual with more insights of the topic or field. Usually, the person, one asks for help in making a life changing decision is more experienced. They have more knowledge about the person as well as life in general, they known the ins and outs, the negatives and the positives of making a certain decision. I remember when I asked my father to help me make decision about dropping out of school and establishing a startup. He is a businessman by profession. He pointed out some positive aspects of starting my own business but he also mentioned negative aspects about dropping out of school. He knew my strengths and weakness. The insights he provided me, compled me to view my decision into a new light and perspective. He helped me to make the decision of staying the school and working part time on my business idea. This is the perfect example of how people can help one in making decisions by pointing them in right direction.

In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I absolutely disagree that a person should make decisions alone. This is because, asking for help can reduce the stress and other people can provide valuable inputs.