A person should never make an important decision alone.

Should a person make an important decision alone? Many people think that other's suggestions are important, but I don't think so. Suggestions are suggestions, and the advisor doesn't need to pay the consequences. So, I think that sometimes, One person needs to make a choice alone sometimes.

There are no two same leafs in the world. When others make suggestions, it is based on his range of knowledge and his life experience has reference value, but the most important point is that no one can be responsible for your life, so the person who chooses the road of life can only be yourself. For example, when it comes to choosing a major in college, some people will suggest you to study computer because it is a popular major and easy to find a job after graduation, while others will suggest you to study medicine because this career is stable. But suppose your interest is astronomy and your dream is to work in astronomy research, then in the end, which major to choose, others' advice can only be referred to, the real decision can only be made by yourself.

Not every choice allows a person to think clearly. Sometimes, there will be accidents. Because of the lack of time, it doesn't allow one to discuss the matter. When this time comes, one has to make an important choice alone. For example, in wartime, a villager sees enemy troops nearing his village. He has two options: to escape alone or to warn the village. If he chooses the first option, then he might be guilty in his heart. If he chooses the second one, then he might be trapped in the village with the villagers. When this time comes, there is no chance of discussing the issue. Warn or escape, this a choice that must be made alone.

Also, I want to state one point, which is that not every choice is preceded by the advice of others. Whenever one makes an suggestion, it is based on his personal experience and knowledge. But what if the problem is already beyond the knowledge and experience of the advisor? For example, let's say that one controls a private equity fund, before the outbreak of the U.S. debt crisis in 2008. Most people believe that the loans are quality investments, but only very few people realize the crisis here. So what should you do? Follow the majority opinion to buy a lot? Or do you realize that the crisis is approaching and do the opposite? I believe that in this issue, before 2008, people will choose to follow the majority of people's suggestions. But after 2008, people will agree to be independent and cautious in making choices.

Lastly, I want to restate that I agree with listening to others' advice, but that doesn't mean that you should not make decisions yourself. Sometimes, one has to do it, because the one who pays the consequences can only be himself.