Students could receive a better, more efficient education if they spend 11 months a year studing.

It is tempting to think the more time a student spends on his studies, the better an education he/she can hope to receive.

However, I hold the opposite opinion that it is impossible for a student to get a better education by excessively studying for 11 months a year. More

Schooling does not necessarily equate a better education as education encompasses a rich array of aspects other than simply knowledge from textbooks.

An extended period of study contributes very little to better education.

It has been reported that people cannot focus on one thing for more than a few hours at a time. If they force themselves to stretch their attention span, then their physical condition deteriorates, leading to a decline in efficiency and productivity, be it at work or at study.

It is not surprising, for example, that a skilled flutist might have difficulty in controlling her armature and overall posture for hours without drifting her focus to other less important things, like the hot

guy in the trumpet section. A programmer, however skillful in coding, could not tease out a single bug after spending more than ten hours in

front of the computer.

Similarly, if students were forced to sit in the classroom for more than the regular school year of 8 months, listening to monotonous lectures one after another, they would soon become exhausted and even rebellious to such an unreasonable arrangement. They will become absent-minded in class and slack off on homework assignments.

In contrast, if students take several months off after a regular semester of intense work they can charge their batteries and return to the next semester, more engaged and rejuvenated.

The second reason for my stance is that the best education occurs outside of school.

A several-month long summer break, for example, will allow students to go outside of their typical environment and to get in touch with the real world. They gain the opportunities to travel and socialize with people they usually would’ interact with. These meaningful experiences offer an education that students could never hope to receive at school.

I once met a person during my summer vacation who was volunteering at a non-profit organization aimed at helping children from less privileged families. She sacrificed a high-paying job offer from a multinational company to devote her time wholeheartedly to helping those children. The encounter made me realize the power of dreams and how certain aspirations can motivate a person to leave behind materialistic desires, such as a stable job.

Another example is a boy whom I met in Beijing. He was brought up in an orphanage as he lost his parents at an early age. But he remained optimistic

and always wore the biggest smile on his face. We chatted and joked often. His sunny nature taught me that true happiness lies not in one's circumstances, but in one's state of mind. No matter how meager lives we lead, a simple smile can keep us happy from within. Those are precious lessons that I have stayed with me to this day.

If I hadn't gone on vacation, I would have missed the education of a lifetime and become a very different person today.

Therefore, 11 months of education per year amounts to an evil plan. I would encourage students to take breaks and take them often.