Playing computer games is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them.

I do not agree with the statement that playing computer games is a waste of time. I believe that it actually can be beneficial for children, since it lets them to experience technology and understand how the computers work to some extent and it gives them some time to relax.

Even though it may sometimes be harmful for a child to spend so much time playing computer games rather than studying, these games let them get used to the available technology we have. This provides an easy adaptation for the children to other technological tools we use in our everyday life as well, such as online courses, printers, scanners, at school; television, kitchen equipment at home, or even vehicles used for transportation anywhere.

Studying and succeeding is important for children throughout their education, but they can only do this if they also have some free time to relax and have fun. Playing computer games provides this opportunity for them. Besides, they can also make friends while playing computer games. Having friends and also free time provides motivation for the children to study more. That is why the time for playing computer games is not a time wasted.

One other point is about the development of the children’s brain. It is obvious that technology and thus the computers are used a lot in today’s world. Hence, a child playing so much computer games is also, maybe without knowing, getting ready for the skills he/she is going to need later in his/her career. I have a friend who have played so much computer games as a child and who still does. Last semester, we took a programming course as a group of friends which required us to do coding and none of us had coding experience before. That friend of mine became the most successful one in the course and it was mostly due to his earlier familiarity towards computers.

To sum up, I support that children should be allowed to play computer games, if that does not cause them to ignore their other responsibilities such as studying or if that does not take more time than necessary. By having the chance to relax and have their own free time, they can happily succeed and furthermore develop their technological skills.