public transportation

Public transportation has become important part of human’s life. Without transportation, it would be difficult for people to move from one place to another. Some people believe that the government should spend money on improving roads and the highways, while others disagree. Personally, I think that the government should spend money on improving a public transportation as it has many advantages.

Firstly, public transportation helps to keep the environment free from pollution. In other words, if public transportation is improved and well maintained, people will be more willing to take public transportations like subways or buses instead of driving personal vehicles, which would lead to less pollution and fresher and cleaner atmosphere. For example, when I was in Shanghai on business, an international metropolis, I was very much impressed by the popularity of public transportation. Even though Shanghai is an international metropolis and has an enormous population as well as huge amount of commuting people, its air quality is on the top of the quality list around the country, which largely could be contributed to the well-developed and elaborate transportation system.

Secondly, public transportation will be less expensive. It is no doubt that daily commuting fees takes a large part of the daily expenses, which actually is a huge burden for people, especially those with a low-paid salary. However, public transportation could help them alleviate economic pressure since the cost of public transportation is shared by thousands of commuters, thus it would be a cost-efficient choice for office workers. If government does not invest in funding public transportation, people living in the community are more likely to be under the economic pressure due to the increasing living cost. It would be no surprise to find that the cost of living in a small city is much higher than that of living in an international metropolis like Shanghai.

Thirdly, taking public transportation can avoid problems of finding parking space. Nowadays, it is not an easy thing to hunt for a suitable parking spot, especially during the morning rush hours. Office workers have to spend a big deal of time to find empty parking space, which is definitely a waste of time. For example, my college, Lucy used to drive her private car to g to work for the sake of convenience. However, daily parking takes her large amount of time and sometimes she even would be late due to finding empty parking space, which brings about much unnecessary trouble. From then on, she started to commute by taking public transportation that provides true convenience.

In conclusion, considering that public transportation is able to be beneficial to environment and cost-efficient and convenient for commuters, I believe that government should invest on transportation infrastrcture.