Friendship is essential for everyone, having a few friends to talk to when you feel down can really help establish a stronger friendship and a way to deal with your stress. I agree that making new friends can be fun, but I still consider longterm friendship with a few friends is more important this is because of three reasons which I will be further elaborating on in the following essay.

Talking from personal experience I believe that it is hard to be friends with everyone. Constantly trying to establish new friendships is very exhausting for me, and it won't leave me the time to stay in touch with my old friends. In my opinion, friendships only become stronger if I am able to go through a lot with my friend. Through a long-lasting friendship, my friend and I will understand each other a lot better compared to someone I just met for a few days.

Personally, I would more likely trust a friend I know for years over a friend I just met. It takes a long time for us to trust someone else if I am unable to maintain a long-term friendship with a few of my friends I would have no one to trust, no one to talk to that I know understands me. At least, in my opinion, I believe that I need to know someone well enough before I tell them any of my secrets. I remember once when I tried to tell a friend my secret when I have not had a chance to get to know them enough, I was really uncomfortable and turns out she sold me out and spreader my secrets as rumors. I was unwise to share my secrets with someone I hardly know. If I was able to know her well enough and know that she is the type of person that would spread my secrets I would not have told her.

Lastly, to add on to my previous point of trust, I would go to my trustworthy friends for decisions. I do not think a friend I've only met for a few days will actually consider the ethics of my choices and actions. I believe that it is less likely that they will actually help me consider the consequences. I remember when I went to a friend I've met for only a week for suggestions, they didn't really seem to care and they seemed to give me a very random suggestion without considering it. It makes me feel really odd and unreliable. I bet if I was her childhood friend she would actually care and give me a suggestion she truly believe is best for my situation.

In conclusion, I believe that long-term friendships are valuable since strong friendship can only be established over a long period of time. This sums up why I disagree with the statement.