Question:

Some parent offer their school-age children money for each high grade (mark) they get in school Do you think this is a good idea?

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Motivating the school-age children has always been a challenge for their parents. Every parent has their own way to reward and motivate their children, but the question of whether it is a good idea that parents offer their children money for each high grade or not has been a topic of controversy. Different responses could be given to this prompt based on the cultural background of the parents. However, as far as I am personally concerned I conspicuously declare that not only offering the children money will soon become a wrong habit for them but also forms a wrong model for them in which they will get the reward of their efforts right after. Also, money has never been a recommended reward for school-age children.

To start with, this kind of rewarding will soon become a habit for children; thus, every time they get a high grade they expect the reward whether they parents think the same or not. This leads children toward trying just for the money and makes it their only incentive to achieve a high grade. For example, when a child is treated like this and given money for every high grade, it becomes a habit for the child and as he grows up his expectation of his parents will grow as well and all this will collapse when the parents cannot afford their child grown appetite for monetary rewards. So this kind of incentive has no advantage but teaching the children a wrong method and habit.

Additionally, paying children for their high grades forms a wrong model for them in which they will get the reward of their efforts right after. A disadvantage of this model is that they learn to expect an immediate reward after every achievement of their life so they do not learn the way real life works in which sometimes they should wait a long time to get to the result of their efforts. Also, this immediate monetary reward approach will easily lessen children eagerness for the education and study itself, instead they just look for the joy the money will bring them. However, it should be the classes and the learning process that they enjoy most.

More importantly, money has never been a recommended reward for school-age children. Therefore, parents should reward the children with books or some electronic learning materials or tools in the same field in which the children have gotten the high grade. These rewards not only motivate the children, but also help them to become better in their lessons and classes for even a higher mark.

To sum up, taking into account the above-mentioned ideas, it is firmly recommended that parents do not offer their school-age children money for their high grades as it will become a wrong habit for them and forms a wrong model which lead to a reduction of their eagerness for the knowledge they learn. It is highly recommended that parents reward the children with books or some electronic learning materials or tools, to avoid all the disadvantage of offering money for the high grades and replace it with lots of positive impacts.