Reading is better than watching TV

"Reading makes people wit", cited from famous British writer Dickens. Indeed, the basis of human's culture and history as well as other subjects are largely established and recorded by the books. However, with the advent of advanced technology like televisions and mobile phones as well as computers, people are more and more accustomed to the various contents each media provides. These ways well offer different access to wide ranges of information. Nevertheless, I prefer to reading books rather than watching television.

To begin with, the content  on television  is  more chaotic  than  ordered  and  repletes with  meaningless  information. In order to meet the needs of the people from all age group, the program providers tend to include some meaningless contents, for example some TV shows. It only makes the audience laugh as the actor plays exaggeratedly or shout humorously. But after watching, nothing is impressed on their minds. The famous Chinese TV program “Where are dads going?” which aimed at recording the colorful moments the kids stayed with their dads turned out to be merely a commercial trick-the kids act with the press of earning money. And similarly, the program providers have to advertise a lot of ads to improve their profits. Consequently, the audience are tired with so many advertisement.

Conversely, the book is like the harbor where people could rest their hearts. The reading material not only widens people’s eyes and outlooks, but also help cultivate people’s interest and morality. When I was young, my parents introduced me to read a lot books I liked, like Huckleberry Finn’s Adventure and Harry Potter series. Furthermore, I read books like the Catcher in the Rye and the Man Chasing the Kate and American history. They all lured me to the sea of knowledge and leisure. I learned something that teachers never taught at class such as “Honest is the best policy” and “A friend in need is a friend indeed” as well as “The failure is the mother of success”

To be honest, watching television is not completely bad thing. Chances are that a good disciplined person will gain all his need to succeed. Like Bear’s Man vs Wild teaching you incredibly how to survive in the wild. And some documentary programs inform you about history you never know. So the device itself is just the platform where all kinds of content could appear on it and so do the books. Fortunately, old predecessors already left great treasure to us to read.

To put all in a nutshell, I prefer reading books to watching television. Since the televsion programs usually contains useless information and advertisement. Good books provide wonderful insight into the realm of knowledge. So I love reading books.