The rules that the societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict

Rules have tremendous and significant impact in on one’s life as they not only help the individual lead a obedient and systematic life but also improve their way of doing things. A punctual, polite and a well organized quality of an individual makes him stand unique as a quintessential individual. Some may support the fact that rules are unneceesary burden for young people as many rules are imposed on them by the elders.

First and foremost, rules are the most essential aspect in a school or university to maintain the standard of the institution as well as the student. Without a strict rule to attend the school or university, students do not remain punctual and come vaguely to their classes. For example, I was teaching undergraduate dental students in a private institute. The institution has kept strict rules to monitor the students by maintaining their biometric attendance whenever the student enters and leaves the classroom. This avoided proxy attendance and encouraged more students to attend the class. However , has it not been imposed, most of the students would not have even procured the required minimum attendance to appear for the exam.

Moreover, with the growing technology, we could see most of the young people even the school students have easy access to the mobile phones. They are easily lured to the mobile phones and internet. They spend endless hours relentlessly in front of the screens .Parents should strictly restrict the screen time, otherwise they will waste their productive time and energy playing in mobile phones or by browsing social media pages. Nowadays, the younger generation doesn’t listen to their parents and get swayed by multitude of things. The time and energy wasted in this indeed will reflect later on in their grades at the school or the university.

However, the rules should be sensible and meaningful. Anything which barged into them unnecessarily will have a negative impact. Admittedly , smooth conversation to correct their behaviour most often solves the problem than the strict rules. In many families, strict rules imposed by the elder people had created lot of mental stress and taken away all the freedom of the younger generation. This in turn affect the mental health of the individual which impacts the society later on.

In conclusion, due to the above mentioned facts, I reckon the fact that Rules are absolutely necessary in the present scenario to create or sculpt a punctual, obedient and successful individual. As I read somewhere, “ Follow the rules or follow the fools”.