Do you agree or disagree with the following statement The rules that societies today expect young people to follow and obey are too strict Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays, articles or events in a theme of young people’s rebellions against social rules trend in hot lists frequently, which raises concerns about whether the rules that societies today expect young generations to follow and obey are too strict. Some parents assert that never have such rules rigorous enough to teach their children, others think otherwise. Personally speaking, I incline to the perspective that society need to loose the rules imposed on young people. The reasons to substantiate my viewpoints will be elaborated upon hereunder.

The first exquisite point should be mentioned is that young people’s creativity and obsession with novelty have been repressed under the pressure of rigor rules. The primary reason for these circumstances is the fear for breaking social conventions that embedded in every youth’s mind, which also deters them from taking a further step. Japan, for instance, used to be regarded as one of main leaders in world’s advanced technology industry. Their products had been occupied the most in global market. However, their domestic social rules changed drastically in recent years, from tolerate to restricted, which led to a even worse result. Not only did Japan’s engine for invention failed, but also young Japanese lost their faith. Eventually, their young generations’s principle became following the old patterns, without the courage to break the rules and explore new areas. Thus, social rules today shouldn’t be so strict that young people’ potential talents will be hidden.

Another reason drives me to indicate is that young people’s psychological health will be affected under such strict rules. To be more specific, growing in a environment abounded with rigorous rules, individuals can become insufficient with happiness or satisfaction. In the worst cases, youths may even tend to commit crimes. A research carried by Tokyo University attributes juvenile delinquency to overwhelming rigid social rules. According to their statistics, with more strict rules imposed on young people in the trial, their negative feelings, like depression, sorrow or even rage rose by 27%. Moreover, their tendency to crime increased by 13%, which was a very exaggerating result. Hence, we must be alert to the psychological dilemma for adolescents brought by strict social rules.

Nevertheless, a voice arises that strict rules should be enacted since without meticulous conductions and systematic regulations, diversified information on the internet may allure young people and lead them to the wrong way. Yet, the drawbacks of such statement outweigh it’s merits. For young people are tend to form rebellious psychology and take absurd actions to run afoul of rigid rules. Overall, the inherent for adolescents’ conflicting behaviors are the result of extreme rigorous rules.

In a nutshell, judging from what I have mentioned above, I should reinforce my perspective that currently, the rules that societies expect young people to follow and obey are too strict.