Should nuclear power plants be banned?

Nowadays, banning nuclear power plants is a thorny issue around the world. Some people might say that nuclear power plants are necessary in our lives because alternative power is less plausible for living a stable life. On the other hand, I believe that nuclear power plants should be banned in order to stop global warming. In addition, there is a risk of explosion as a result of natural disasters.

To begin with, every year, global warming has been deteriorating around the world. Some developing countries, such as China and India, are producing a huge amount of harmful gases into the atmosphere compared to other countries because, after the turn of the century, these countries started growing at a rapid speed. Apart from these countries, many countries utilize nuclear power plants. In other words, it is integrated into our lives and is necessary to maintain electricity in our society. On the other hand, it greatly contributes to global warming in terms of producing carbon dioxide. If we stop using electricity from nuclear power plants, it will be difficult to rely on renewable energy, but we have no choice if we want to protect our nature. In addition, if we use renewable energy actively, it might be possible to maintain our lives only using renewable energy. Therefore, banning nuclear power plants is quite an important point in the shift to alternative energies.

Secondly, the explosion of nuclear power plants has devastating effects around the world. Of course, nuclear power contributes to our lives, but if a catastrophe occurs, it has the power to kill people easily and destroy the environment quickly. For example, Japan experienced the explosion of nuclear power plants in 2009 due to the earthquake. Many people realized how dangerous nuclear power plants were after this accident, and many people started to ban nuclear power plants because they experienced direct and felt fear at that time. This accident has an impact not only on the United States but also on neighboring countries, so we had a responsibility to pay a huge amount of money to other countries, and it is hard to revive nature which destroyed by the explosion of nuclear power plants.

To sum up, nuclear power plants have many drawbacks, such as producing harmful gases and the risks of killing people and nature. These are two reasons why I absolutely agree that nuclear power plants should be banned.