Should students be allowed to use smart devices in the classroom. Use specific reasons and details to support your answer. (real test topic Sep 8th 2018)

When it comes to the topic of smart devices, various points of view tend to develop. Some people may hold the view that students should not be allowed to use smart devices in their classroom, while others oppose to this view. Personally, I totally agree with the former view, which will be discussed in the following essay.

Obviously, using smart devices is disadvantageous in classroom when it comes to study efficiency. The fact is that if students use these devices, they may not pay enough heed to the lectures in their classroom. As a consequence, they would miss much knowledge delivered by their teachers, which means later, they may show poor academic performance. My friend Jason is a compelling example of what I have mentioned above. In this academic year, his mother bought him the IPhone, the very smart gadget. However, possessing IPhone had negative impact on Jason’s learning efficiency. Recently, his head teacher reported his poor performance to his parents, and said that Jason used smart device too much without listening carefully to the lectures. As a result, he received many low grades in the recent examinations. What can be seen from this example is that as students use smart devices, they are likely to neglect their studies. Therefore, they should not be allowed to use these devices.

Some people may argue that students should be allowed to use smart devices during their class in terms of study efficiency. Specifically, they would utilize these devices as educational tools assisting them in studying. However, this is not entirely true. Though smart devices can support education, it can actually distract students from listening to lectures in their class as I have mentioned. Additionally, smarts devices cannot replace teachers’ role. Obviously, the knowledge delivered by teachers is enough for students, meaning that they do not have to use smart devices to search more information. Teachers are also capable of answering any questions from their students. Furthermore, the facilities or traditional study tools in the classroom can actually support students. Instead of using e-dictionary in smart devices, students may use traditional dictionary. Therefore, it can be asserted that the disadvantages of smart devices outweigh the advantages so students should not be allowed to use them in their classroom.

In conclusion, I am completely in agreement with the statement that students should not be allowed to use smart phones in their classroom. The primary reason is that students may neglect their studies. It is highly recommended that people should take my writing into careful consideration to have better sense of smart devices’ effect on students’ learning efficiency.