Small crimes deserve community service instead of time in prison.

The way that society punish people who have commited small crimes has become a major issue which frequently generates a big deal of heated debate, with supporters claiming that convicts have to spend time on prison while opponents state that community service is enough to rehabilitate. In my opinion, citizens that have done a small crime should do community service. The reasons for my belief are economic, philosophic and personal.

First of all, community service saves money. The citizens who have committed a crime will be living in their own place. Furthermore, they will have to use public transportation and spend the day working on something that it will improve the community. In contrast, prisoners sleep and eat on the prison. They do not do anything besides that and the society will have to maintain them. In addition, they do not work as they are not allow to leave and this clearly does not help to grow the economy.

Secondly, from a philosophical point of view, community service allows convicts to give back to society. If the person who has committed a crime is able to understand and fix it, the individual will be able to make up the situation for the offense done. For example, someone who has made a graffiti on the wall should not go to prison. Instead, the society should give that person the possibility to understand from the mistake done and provide the opportunity to solve the problem like painting walls.

Personally, I think that community service helps convicted to have an efficient rehabilitation. Prisons can be very hard to transit. There are several movies and documentaries that illustrate how prisons can affect a person’s mental health. In my view, community service provides a safe environment where a person can really understand and fix what have done. Moreover, the prison alienates an individual from society.

In conclusion, I strongly agree that citizens who have committed small crimes should do community service instead of going to prison. This is because community service saves money, it helps a people to make up for their offenses and provides a safe environment for rehabilitation.