Some parents offer their school age children money for each high grade mark they get in school Do you think this is a good idea Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is hard to deny that it is a child's job to go to school and learn, and such a fact leads impressionable people to generate the point that parents should pay their children for good grades. However, such a statement suffers from logical and factual fallacies, and it needs to be examined meticulously. As far as motivation decreases, ignorance of the process, and materialism promotion, I firmly believe that paying for grades is not the best way to set kids up for life-long success.

First and foremost, cash rewards decrease children's motivation, as they only motivate some degree in the short-term, but this motivation is not sustainable. Meanwhile, due to their motivation for instant benefits is short-term and external rather than long-term and internal, kids will eventually want their parents to raise the pay, which leads to increased bargaining and appeasement. Not to mention that parents send a message to their children that they do not believe children can do well without extra incentives, making children feel less confident of themselves.

Furthermore, paying children for the higher grade could let them overlook their learning process but focus only on the end-goals, indicating that parents should not use financial incentives to drive children's learning motivation. It is hard for children to enjoy the process of learning. However, once kids realize it, they will be more willing to do it without a payoff. Take the case of physics class, whose learning can be enjoyable with parents' help. Maybe it is talking about quantum physics's mind-bending theories like multiverse (the idea that one particle can be in two places at a time) despite the boring physics homework. Had it not been for the parents' tries to cultivate their children's interest in studying, children may never get the chance to feel inspired by the smaller, daily things they learn and experience along the way.

Nevertheless, a voice rises that paying for grades can be a good idea without question since studying is children's job, making no difference from young adults getting paid for their work when they finally land jobs. Ironically, this would be the weakest argument and may cause children's life attitudes to slant toward materialism. Logically speaking, it does make sense, but one could counter that not all jobs are rewarded with money - parents do not clean the house for money, and people at unpaid internships get nothing but experience and networking opportunities. Some jobs serve not as money-making opportunities but as character and experience builders, like personal growth, one of the main benefits of learning in a classroom with fellow students, which should be payment enough for children. Therefore, parents should not pay kids for grades because their reward is likely to teach them materialism, the mammon gospel.

In a nutshell, I maintain that parents should not give their children money for good grades. Admittedly, as my favorite quote from Penelope Fitzgerald goes, it is interesting to note that everyone has a different take on the world, a different opinion, and given the same inputs have completely different outputs, and some people may oppose me. However, I believe they will compromise after being exposed to my article.