Some people argue for a broad university education in which students learn about many different subjects Others argue for a specialized university education in which students learn only about a specific field of study Which position do you agree with U

The how-to-be of formal education has invariably been a topic of debate. In this regard, opinions are divided as to whether a broad university education is beneficial or a specialized one. When it comes to education, it is my firm conviction that specialized education and a specific field of study beseem for burgeoning individuals as well as society.

First of all, the specified education is congruous with our brain capability. Our tabula rasa, or rather our brain in the early stage of development, from the beginning of acquiring knowledge, about both ourselves and our environment, embarks upon the odyssey of learning with an endless variety of experiences. However, not only does the brain inherently marshal data, but it also specifies data pragmatically. Therefore, one should consider that specified education is in accordance with one’s learning and recognizing his world with his per se limitations, which are to be useful in understanding and advancing the field of study.

Secondly, the specified Education, or rather “vertical” Education, nurture adept individuals in society, a hive of activity. At first blush, in the broad education, it would be better to say “ horizontal” education, one is supposed to acquire quite a bit of knowledge, about nearly everything, but on second thought, it stands to reason that obtaining in-depth knowledge just in one scope impose much more time on the person to have an expert eye at one field. In terms of professional view, Specified Education gives status to limited but in-depth knowledge rather than a broad but shallow one so that one can have practical experience which would be beneficial for their community spirit. It is taken for granted that in the status quo of modern societies as such has become so complicated that it is of much necessity that one advanced society has had a spectrum of meticulous know-how experts in each field. Hence, nowadays, specified education outweighs the broad one to prosper society.

Thirdly, the specified education is designed to be used in conjunction with the economic climate. Retrospectively, broad education is based on the old paradigm, where universities were dedicated to pursuing humanities and pure sciences. However, in effect, the current situation is dramatically different for the sake of economic plights, so the career readiness view seems remunerative. To this view, the production of education is to produce graduates for the market economy, and Students are to be geared toward professional training and providing job opportunities. Students would be encouraged to choose courses based on market needs, not on their intellectual curiosity.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that the specified university is outstripping in our on-the-ground experience. This is because its contributions are compatible with our needs as human beings and help us to progress in many aspects of our life.