Some people believe that advertising informs customers about products and services that can enhance their lives. Other people feel that it manipulates consumers into purchasing items they have no real need for. Which opinion do your support and why ? Please use details and examples to develop your essay.

With the advent of technological advancements to the level, one could barely imagine just a decade ago, marketing and advertising techniques have reached new heights of success. Nowadays, it is fairly simple and efficient to rapidly advertise a product to a wide range of people. This surely makes people aware of such products regardless of their geographical location. In my opinion, advertising often manipulates consumers into purchasing the products they barely need.

To begin with, it is not uncommon for television advertisements to display a lavish, comfortable life associated with products that are barely used in regular life. This portrayal of a luxurious lifestyle accompanied by higher social status, wealth, and power that is shown in the T.V. commercials is the primary reason behind purchasing unwanted products. It lures customers by creating a false need. For instance, I remember when I bought this ridiculously expensive video game which was just a slightly updated version of the one I already had. The advertisement was directed in a way that a lot of cool features have been added, and I just had to have it.

Secondly, gifts, vouchers, sales, discounts, etc. usually announced to make advertisements more interesting and compelling is just another marketing scheme to cajole the customers into buying the products. What companies and brands do normally is that they show an overly priced product being available at high discounts and other gift vouchers. However, it is not difficult to deduce the fact that the final deal considering the overall price of all the benefits you get is the same as buying those items individually. Even if the price is slightly low, it is mainly due to the need for such firms to sell the stock as soon as possible.

Some may argue that these very advertisements are responsible for letting people know about the essential products used in routine life. Admittedly, it may help people to be conversant with some really helpful products with reasonable prices. However, considering the profit-centered approach of almost every firm does not put forward many benefits for the customers. Besides, we live in an era where everybody is aware of what basic things are required to survive in daily life. Such products are easily available in nearby markets.

To sum up, it is perfectly reasonable to say that advertisements often play mind games with customers and convince them to buy something that is absolutely not needed. So many marketing strategies are out there completely focused on increasing profits of a particular company even at the expense of disrupted budgets of common households.