"Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to make as much money as possible.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented."

Corporations play a pivotal role in our life. Some commentators argue that companies should share the responsibility as far as the advocation of the enhancement of the environment and quality of life in society is concerned; whereas others argue that corporations should only be concerned with maximizing profit within the boundaries of the law. In this essay, I will discuss both views and put forward a substantiated personal view that argues that corporations should, indeed, share the responsibility of bettering life in society.

Advocates of the stance that corporations should play a role in improving the environment and social life support their position by highlighting the fact that these corporations, especially the ones that are involved in heavy industry, themselves contribute to polluting the environment around them. For instance, in my own city, there is a huge oil refinement factory that engages in large-scale refined oil production and distribution, for national and international markets. The negative consequences of such a factory in a populated urban area are constant air pollution. Thus, it only stands to reason that these companies partake in developing and implementing social and environmental programs that will benefit the city and the general public. In addition, the company itself will benefit from this engagement, as participating in this type of social activities can result in enhancing the company’s image. This form of involvement of corporations in society is precisely what is known as “Corporate Social Responsibility.”

The opponents of for-profit corporations’ engagement in social and environmental programs support their position that, in principle, corporations should only be concerned with production and generating profit. Creating and executing social and environmental programs, their reasoning goes, is the sole responsibility of the government and non-profit organizations. However, what this line of reasoning ignores is the implications of corporations’ industrial activities on the environment and society around them. Companies ought to take responsibility for the negative impacts they have on their surrounding environment and contribute to addressing them. This is where the promoters of Corporate Social Responsibility derive their rationale.

Indeed, corporations have the right to focus on production and maximizing profit. However, because these corporations tend to have negative impacts on their surrounding environment and society, they also have the responsibility of participating in social and environmental programs.